I’m Staying With My Boys

For those who have taken an interest in THE PACIFIC I suggest reading I’m Staying With My Boys: The Heroic Life of Sgt. John Basilone, USMC by Jim Proser.  This biography tells the story of Sgt. John Basilone who is one of the three main characters portrayed in THE PACIFIC.  The biography is written in the first person as if Proser is John Basilon himself.  Proser’s extensive research does an excellent job of capturing the mood and mindset of Basilon throughout his life right up to the moment he died on Iwo Jima.  This is a fine read for anyone looking to obtain more details about events portrayed in THE PACIFIC or the Pacific theater of war in general.  I typically hate reading books for pleasure but I thoroughly enjoyed this biography of one of the most decorated U. S. Marines of all time.

Leave a Reply

