Egg on My Face

I was in the middle of writing a post for my “blob” (that’s what my dad calls blogs) about how it is funny that there are updates for the flashlight app on the iphone.  For those that are unfamiliar with the app, it is an illuminated white screen that glows and can basically be used to find the change that falls out of your pocket during a movie.

I had written what I thought was a delightful little yarn about how ridiculous these updates were and the blob post took the form of that sweet Old Spice commercial with the guy walking on a log in a lake, then jumping off a waterfall, then riding a motorcycle in a hot tube… great commercial!  Anyway, I decided to look up the description of the flashlight app in the App Store to see what the description actually said.  To my amazement, I discovered that you have always been able to  customize your flashlight however you want.  Different colours, different shapes and patterns, you can make it strobe… the possibilities are endless!  Consequently, because the flashlight app has always been more then just a white screen my first blob creation turned out to be useless and a direct result of my own poor research.  Turns out I should have put in a little more time on Doogle… that’s what my dad calls Google.

2 Responses to “Egg on My Face”

  1. Actually boot that is not an update, you have always been able to do that.

  2. jbeirnes Says:

    Yes I know that now Hub, that’s why it now makes sense that there are frequently updates for the flashlight app… because there is more to it then just a white screen. Thus the egg on my face. I have made a small amendment to the article to try to make that clear. Thanks for the comment though! Always love feedback from fans.

Leave a Reply

