A Steak Better

Today I discovered a way to become rich beyond my wildest dreams.  Two words… DISCOUNT MEAT.

I went to the grocery story to buy a Wii accessory and decided to pick up some steaks for myself and the LC.  To my surprise, there were two top sirloin steaks 30% OFF.  Why were they 30% OFF?  They expired tomorrow.  Sure they looked a little pale and smelled a little off but they grilled up to perfection.   It was honestly one of the best steak I’ve had in a while which caused me to proclaim at dinner that I will only eat discount meat from this day forward.

The math is simple.   Two $10 steaks at 30% OFF would allow me to save $6 dollars a week on steak alone.  If I start buying chicken, pork and fish at 30% OFF every week I’m going to be saving a solid $20-$25 a week on meat.  This doesn’t seem like a lot but it would add up over the year.

The real key to becoming rich on discount meat is to convince your significant other that the meat is such a good deal that they should just pay for it all.  This is what I did today.  So, rather than saving a measly $6 on steak I saved $20 because I didn’t pay for it at all.

That’s just good economic sense if you ask me.

3 Responses to “A Steak Better”

  1. Apaprently Monday is the best day to buy discount meat! I would suggest that you eliminate meat from your diet 2 days a week (to save even more) but I know how that idea wouldn’t fly!

  2. Let’s hope this doesn’t lead to a case of the green apple splatters!

  3. I only ever buy discount meat…get to the store before 9:30 and there’s lots of pink 30% off stickers…it used to be 50% but they changed that….I’m surprised Mur hasn’t caught on to that

Leave a Reply

