Funhouse

I was sitting around with my thoughts in outer space a couple of days ago and out of nowhere the late 80s kids game show Funhouse popped into my head.  My oldest brother was obsessed with this show and use to turn our actual house into a homemade “Funhouse” after every episode he watched.  My other brother and I were then subjected to play in this homemade “Funhouse” once it was completed.  It always seemed like a good idea but homemade “Funhouse” always ended with its temporary suspension and someone crying.  It’s important to mention that I was 4 or 5 competing against my brother who was 6 or 7 and most activities were performed blindfolded.

 

I digress.

 

I hadn’t thought of this show in years so I Googled it to see if I could learn some more about it.  I found out that there was a British version and an American version that aired from 1988-1991.  FOX picked up the show for the start of its third season and changed the name to FOX’s Funhouse.  In addition to this boring information I obtained, I also came across several episodes of the show on Youtube.  I’ve watched many of them and I must say, “It’s not that good.”  The fromage factor is through the roof and the funhouse itself doesn’t look nearly as fun or challenging as I recall.  Despite this, it is pretty sweet to see what the prizes were 20 years ago and to marvel at the hairstyles.  One things for sure, you know Brian Austin Green took a run at the twins as soon as the cameras turned off.

 

One Response to “Funhouse”

  1. I was suprised to see no Jordache jeans, I always wanted jordache jeans and LA gears while riding an American Airlines plane to the LA zoo. Too bad our homemade funhouse didn’t have prizes like that!

Leave a Reply

