A Day of Remembrance

In the two weeks before November 11th it is customary for people in the Commonwealth countries to wear a poppy.  Poppies were amongst the first things to grow following the destructive battles in the Flanders region of Belgium during WWI.  The brilliant red of the poppies is said to symbolize the blood spilled throughout the Great War.  It was John McCrae’s reference in his poem In Flanders Fields that brought the poppy to represent the sacrifices of the armed forces.

Every year I proudly wear a poppy as a means of remembrance.  However, today was the first Remembrance Day I actually had the opportunity to pay my respects at a cenotaph or war memorial.  As thousands gathered at the Sailors Memorial in Halifax to pay homage to the fallen, the waves of the Atlantic crashed along the shoreline.  I found myself travelling back in time to the 1940s and envisioning the convoys bound for Britain leaving the Halifax harbor.  Anytime I try to put myself in the shoes of past heroes I am grateful I was never presented with their situation.  However, it is this gratefulness that ensures I will not forget the efforts of Canada’s veterans.  Consequently, I will gladly wear a poppy every year and leave that poppy at a war memorial on November 11th.

3 Responses to “A Day of Remembrance”

  1. well said Pooch…well said
    PS Why weren’t you at work?

    • Remembrance Day is a holiday. I’m pretty sure it’s a holiday in every province but Ontario… and likely Quebec.

  2. Glad you were able to attend a ceremony- I went to the cenotaph too. A tremendous show of remembrance with hundreds in attendance in our little town.

Leave a Reply

