Grease II is a Cool Rider

When I was in high school the song “Summer Nights” was played at every high school dance I went to despite the fact that the movie Grease came out six years before I was even born.  Even more peculiar than the playing of “Summer Nights” was that everyone seemed to know all the lyrics to it.  Despite the fact that my peers had an acute knowledge of this jam, I always found myself faking my way through the entire song.

 

You see, while everyone was going crazy upon hearing the opening lyrics, “Summer lovin’ had me a blast”  I was  standing there thinking “I could really go for some ‘Cool Rider’ right about now.” Why was I thinking this?… because I have yet to watch the movie Grease nor do I care to watch it because there’s no possible way it could be as good as its sequel Grease II.

 

Grease II embodies everything a good high school musical should embody.  The action is focused around the prestige and thrill of motorcycles, but is complimented with a well-choreographed bowling scene and an unpredictable Luau.  It has hot chicks, a guy with an English accent, and a youthful Shooter McGavin with his collar popped constantly.  There is no possible way the first Grease could ever live up to the success and critical acclaim of Grease II.  As a result, I will never watch the first Grease and accept the fact that John Travolta was once skinny.

2 Responses to “Grease II is a Cool Rider”

  1. The Whole Ball of Wax returns. And here I was just about to write to express my concerns about the lack of posts as of late. Why the hiatus? Budget troubles? A new editor? Freddy chewed the power cord on the Macbook again?

Leave a Reply

